The quiet riot against Facebook Messenger

Daily Dot has an article about the new thing Facebook is doing by forcing you to download the messenger app.  I don’t know why this has become such a big deal, except,

perhaps, as the article mentions, it’s just the fact that it was pushed on people, rather than simply being made available as an option.  I don’t know.  I don’t use it that much.  I’m either using SMS or Google Hangouts,  but it doesn’t really bother me at all.

Here’s the thing mentioned in the article that I agree with,  however. Whether justified or not,  the discontent expressed by the user-base is dangerous for Facebook.  I’ve seen other social networks, like Friendster, FriendFeed and Orkut die unceremoniously. And what about Plurk? (yes, I used Plurk for a time). If Zuckerberg isn’t careful,  people will start looking elsewhere to scratch that social itch.  Think Ello!

Leave a Reply

