Who knew buying clothes could be so hard

I went out a week or so ago to buy some new stuff because nothing fits me anymore. Taylor and I hit a few stores, but, strangely, nobody sells the pants size I need. I’ve gone from a 38 inch waist with 34″ inseam to 33. Strangely, when the waist goes down, the inseam goes up. I now need a 36 inseam and that’s not generally available, except as special order.

Here’s the sad thing about this. Setting aside the pain in the butt that I now have to special order my pants, this is a reflection of our American society that, as I approach what the medical community would consider healthy measurements, it becomes more and more difficult to buy clothing because manufacturers are throwing their resources at making clothing for the ‘average’ (i.e. overweight) customer.

I, for one, am happy to special order my clothing for a change!

Leave a Reply

