More out of shape than I thought

Since December, I’ve gotten my 3 mile run time down from 35 minutes to 23 and change. This was all treadmill work, so I knew there’d be an adjustment period when I transitioned to outdoors running. I could not have been more right. Between my leg injury and my transition to running outside, I’ve lost about 3 minutes and I’ve been really sore for the past week, but it feels great to be outside making real progress, and aside from the sore muscles, my legs feel as good as ever. I also continue to lose weight. I’ve lost 21 pounds since December 21st and as painful as these new outdoor runs have been this past week, I have no doubt there’s more to come. 

Here’s something I was thinking about the other day. Given the performance gains I’ve enjoyed these past 3 months, I can’t help wondering where I could be if I had never stopped running in 1992. Really too late to worry too much about that, but I can’t help but be curious about it…

I’m excited about summer. I might actually be able to buy a swimsuit that looks good on me. Guess we’ll see. I’ve already had to buy all new clothes. As expensive as that can be (it’s ongoing due to cost constraints), it’s actually an exciting place to be.

Leave a Reply

