Stargate Universe

I’m a week late, but I just caught the series premier of Stargate Universe.

I like the new show, but, of course, I have to offer a little perspective. I loved the original movie, Stargate. I’ve seen every episode ever created in the 10, or so, years that Stargate SG-1 ran and I’ve seen every episode ever created in the 5 years that Stargate Atlantis ran, so my liking this new series is kind of a no-brainer.

I am a little concerned though. Although Stargate SG-1 was wildly successful, as evidenced by its run time, they cancelled Stargate Atlantis after only 5 seasons, presumably due to ratings. The new series, Stargate Universe, is a new cast in a new story arc, but I’m not sure it’s different enough from Stargate Atlantis. If Atlantis died early due to ratings, I’m not sure this won’t suffer the same fate.

Stargate Universe lives in the same world as the other Stargate shows, and there’s some overlap of characters, with guest appearances by Col. Carter and Gen. O’Neil, and even Walter, but otherwise, it’s a whole new cast. The main premise is that they discover a gate address with a 9th symbol and when they dial it, they end up stranded on a broken “Ancient” ship hurling through intergalactic space at superluminal speed. They have no idea where they are or how to get home, and the ship is breaking all around them. So, presumably, this show is about their efforts to find a way home, with the exception of one character, whose motives have not been made clear. In a way, this sort of reminds me of Star Trek Voyager.

Again, I liked it, and I’ll watch it faithfully, as I did with the other series,’ but as I said above, I’m an easy win.  We’ll have to see.

Posted via email from Kevin’s Ramblings

One comment on “Stargate Universe

Leave a Reply

