I wrote a letter to my Congressman, Dean Heller (R-NV), Regarding HR3200

I’ve been pretty active on Twitter, Facebook, Friendfeed, as well as on my blog and comments to news articles in various papers, but I have this fear that the right wing kooks are screaming louder and the lobbyists are throwing too much money around.  Well, I can’t compete with the latter, but I can sure raise my voice a few decibels. So, I decided to write a letter (actually an email) to my Congressman to express my opinion and to ask for his help.

I did a quick Google search to see if I could find a good template from a letter someone (smarter than I am) had already drafted — the theory being that they may cite details of which I’m not aware, or that I’ve simply overlooked in my single half-baked attempt to read the 1,000 page house bill.  Strangely, I was not able to come up with anything.  It seemed I was going to have to come up with it on my own.  Following is what I came up with. If anyone is aware of a good template that I missed, please share it with me as I have no qualms about firing off another letter.  Besides, I’ve still got two Senators to go.

Dear Sir,
I am in favor of Healthcare Reform. I think we need single-payer or Universal Healthcare system, but I believe a comprehensive reform bill WITH a public option is a positive change.

I would very much like to express my opinion in a public forum, but I don’t know how to do that in a constructive way. I know many cities and states are holding Townhall meetings during this legislative break to discuss healthcare reform, but I can’t find any information on that for our district. I also know that many of these meetings are being disrupted and torpedoed by the right wing and the healthcare lobby and I’d like an opportunity to stand in opposition to these corporate interests in favor of a reform bill that’s good for the people and not just for big business.

Will you please let me know if/when you plan to hold one of these townhall meetings so that I may plan to attend?

As a resident of Nevada’s 2nd District, and therefore, your constituent, I have a right to ask you, respectfully, to support the healthcare reform bill (HR3200, I believe), and I believe it is your obligation as the elected representative of the 2nd District of NV to give due consideration to my request as well as the requests of all of your constituents and to disregard the political jockeying that’s going on in Washington, as well as to resist the immense pressure being brought to bear upon you by the lobbyists who are fighting to protect the profits of the companies that employ them.

I am grateful for the hard work that you do on our behalf and it is my strong hope that you will continue to do so in a manner that is consistent with the will of the people.

Respectfully,
Kevin Arth

I would very much appreciate your thoughts as to how this could have been better.

Posted via web from Kevin’s Ramblings

One comment on “I wrote a letter to my Congressman, Dean Heller (R-NV), Regarding HR3200

Leave a Reply

