Back to school for me…

Well, I’m back to school again. It’s been a rough road.

I spent 6 years at Northwestern University in Chicago and was within 7 classes of graduating. I had to move out of the area and was unable to finish this degree.

We moved to Toledo Ohio. Coming from Northwestern, I was reluctant to finish my degree at University of Toledo. It just seemed like such a letdown. So I procrastinated for a while. We moved back to the Chicago area and I was hopeful to finish my degree, but we moved back to Toledo again within 6 months and I never got the chance. Eventually, upon our return to Toledo, I signed up and started taking classes at UT. I realized that, although University of Toledo wasn’t as prestigious as Northwestern, it was as good as it was going to get under the circumstances. I think I got two classes done and then we moved again. Uhhgg!!

We moved to Dayton Ohio and, although I knew I needed to get back into school, I didn’t know how to proceed. Every time I enroll in a program, we transfer out and I lose tons of credit. After stewing over this for some time, I decided that an online degree was the best solution under the circumstances. It’s quite a departure from the Northwestern degree I originally pursued all those years ago, but right now it seems that this is the only way I’m going to be able to get this degree done.

To make a long story short (I know, too late for that, right?), I settled on Capella University and began the enrollment process. My first class starts next week. I’m still apprehensive about online undergraduate degree programs. I think there’s much to be said for brick and mortar universities. Face time with instructors and fellow students is important, both for academic and social reasons. However, when balanced against the alternative of not getting my degree at all, it doesn’t seem like so bad an option.

Well, more on this topic later.

One comment on “Back to school for me…

Leave a Reply

