The Dixie Chicks

The Dixie Chicks are a Country music band and they were pretty popular. However, a number of years ago, in fact, just before the invasion of Iraq in March of 2003, they made the mistake of expressing their views at their concert. I don’t have the exact quote, but their lead singer, Natalie Maines, said something about being completely against the war and said she was ashamed that President Bush was from Texas.

Of course, I’m no lawyer, but as far as I know, the First Amendment gives her the right to say whatever the hell she wants. Whether you agree with her comment or not (I happen to agree), I think it’s clear that she should not be punished for saying what she said.

I don’t listen to country music, so I have no firsthand knowledge of this, but supposedly, the Dixie Chicks have been blacklisted from all (most) country music stations in the nation. People threw away the CDs, ran them (the CDs) over with tractors. There were even death threats.

As I mentioned, I don’t listen to country music, but in support of this band, I bought some of their music through iTunes. It’s the one way I know I can support them.

I happen to agree with the comments they made, but even if you don’t, I hope you’re at least pissed off at the way they were treated for exercising their First Amendment right to free speech.

A documentary was made of this entire event and I highly recommend you see it. It’s called “Shut Up and Sing”

Leave a Reply

