Hannah’s Halloween story

Hannah had to write a story in school as a reading assignment. This is what she came up with:

Halloween Freak Out
One time near Halloween on Saturday when everyone was asleep, I was still awake. I was making this really scary ghoste. At lunchtime I planed to get my ghoste, put it over my body, sneak up on my sister, Taylor, and at the right time when I was really close I said…Boo! My sister freaked out. She was so scared she almost fell out of her chair and she droped her spoon. After that my sister, Taylor, got so mad at me. I didn’t hear her scream because I pluged my ears and said bla bla bla bla bla bla bla and so on. So she kept on talking, and finally said, are you listening to me? I said, oh, huh, what and my sister made a grunting noise and slaped her fourhead. She said, when I’m talking you listen. I said, listen, talking? What did you say? She said, you don’t get it. So I said, well see ya later. She said, you come back here now! I said, no, never, never,never!

Now this sounds like a pretty cute story. She makes creative use of vocabulary. I didn’t edit this in any way. It’s all Hannah’s spelling and grammar, and her ideas too. But, what’s so hilarious is the fact that this sounds so much like a conversation that they have just about every day of their lives. As I read this, I can see the expressions on Hannah’s and Taylor’s faces and all the gestures they make so often.

It was just a homework assignment, but I had to share it. It’s so telling! 🙂

One comment on “Hannah’s Halloween story

Leave a Reply

